All Things New

26 May

Whew. What a week. Can we move into our house yet?

It’s been almost a week since we became homeowners….by which I mean “we pay a bank to live in their house instead of a landlord”. (OK, that’s the more pessimistic side, I know.) We aren’t moving into it til August, because 1) our lease isn’t up at our apartment til August, which is good because 2) we have a list several pages long of things to do before we want to move in. But that part I’m excited about! I’m sure you’ll eventually have to remind me that I was once excited about all these projects, because at some point I’m sure I’m going to start crying and complaining and heading over to the Steer-In for a huge plate of fries. (Or maybe Stoney’s is more likely.) But right now, I’d love to get to work on it. We have a couple weeks though, before we can get started on the big stuff when our tax refund comes in. In the meantime, I’ll be working on refinishing/painting some good furniture I picked up (an antique desk for $15 from Goodwill! and a chest of drawers that doubles as a bench seat for FREE!). I’ll keep you updated.

You didn’t know this was gonna turn into one of those house blogs did you? Sorry. ūüôā I’ve become more and more enthralled with the idea of renewal and “making all things new”, including our little house (built in 1925) ¬†on the eastside of Indy and the things we put in it. ¬†I like seeing old things repurposed and rehabbed, and I like seeing the beauty even in things that have a little “history”.

Part of it may have to do with growing up in what now feels like a pretty sterilized suburban environment, which I was ready to move away from. (As a side note, I’ve come to learn that those newer houses seems to fall apart a lot more easily than our older homes. They really don’t make them like they used to!) But part of it too comes with my changing understanding of what my theology means to everyday life. I love that (in my understanding of Scripture, and that of my tradition), God isn’t just going to throw everything out and start all over. He’s using what we’re doing now to make all things new. What we do here, on earth, in this life, really does matter. We’re not just trudging through to get to this celestial home in the sky, we’re working on a ¬†project (Creation) deemed worthy by God to ¬†be brought back into right relationship with him, and wholeness. In the “new earth”, we will have new bodies, but we will still recognize them – they will still be ours. This earth will be here, but it will be made new, and right, and whole. No more death, no more decay. What can be more worthy of our time and attention that participating with God in moving toward something that amazing?

And so, we garden and we clean and we help and love and mend and remake and redo and reform and bring wholeness. Because nothing is wasted, all of it matters, both now and forever. And yes, until our “new earth”, we will all still need mending and remending and more help and more growth. But it’s worth it because it is good and right and it’s part of our calling. And all that is broken won’t just be mended: it will be redeemed. It will all make sense, and it will be whole and good.

In my big dreams of “redemption” (and my smaller ones of simply redecorating the bathroom), I’ve run across all sorts of amazing home and life blogs that I’ve grown to love (and lurk around!). Just a few to introduce to you all, if you are interested in that sort of thing (you know….redemption…. ;))

Young House Love: I can’t go to this site too much because I get crazy jealous about the awesome goodness they manage to pull off to their little abode. (Also, I just recently got MORE jealous of them when they both quit their jobs to be full time blogger/renovators!) I actually first found out about them through their cover story on The Nest magazine and became a regular reader after we started looking at houses. They also have a great “how-to” page with links on all sorts of stuff to do to your stuff. And things.

We Can Make That!: OK, I’ll admit, these are two close friends of ours Chris and Amy. (Well, Amy does the blog, but they both do the work!). They bought their house a year ago and have been injecting their DIY excitement into the air around us ever since. They’ve done stuff like tear down walls and tile pretty much their whole house. And Amy painted their toilet. No, really. Also, they have a truck, so they help us out. They’re pretty excited about our new house projects too! And we love them lots.

Fly Through Our Window: Darby’s blog has become my New Favorite. She is truly inspirational in practically every way – she’s a brilliant photographer (it helps that her family is SO beautiful!), fantastic woman-of-the-house and a mom who truly gets what the “mission of motherhood” is. ¬†Her blog is a joy to read, largely because she “gets” what redemption and “all things new” truly means. And I love her recipe ideas! (Check out “renovations” for the awesome stuff they’ve done to their house!) Also, she loves Indelible Grace so I’m pretty sure we could totally be friends in real life.

All Bower Power: Amy got me hooked on Katie Bower’s blog. They have a beautiful house and Katie is really funny. Also, I don’t hate her nearly as much for being super cute and having an adorbs house, mostly because she’s hella funny and totally normal. (If I must read blogs about beautiful people, I also want to read about their imperfections!)

Knock-Off Wood: Another blog I found via Amy. This girl makes me more confident about actually making stuff! (Also, we’re going to benefiting from Ben’s dad’s woodshop items in our basement, so I’m hoping to learn how to do some of my own woodworking soon.) Outdoor patio set anyone?

Apartment Therapy: Classic design group that has great ideas for small spaces

Junkmarket Style: ¬†Junkmarket books inspired me to go on a hunt for antique ladders (which I found for $15 each) and then some old hardback books to hang on them for decoration. And they look awesome. But you’ll have to trust me because I’m too lazy to post a photo ¬†of them right now. (Also, they were originally intended to go in the new house…they’ll be far more exciting to look at there than her in our apartment!) GREAT idea to be found here.

Humble Ablog, Tearing Up Houses, This Fresh Fossil: More fun blogs focused on taking old houses and making them new.

Anyway, I have others, but it’s bedtime for me. Click around some of the above links and tell me what you think. And then follow some of their links too…I love discovering new stuff!

M

One Response to “All Things New”

  1. Beth(any) May 26, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    Doing stuff to a house is so much fun! Yardwork however is of the devil.
    I’m so excited for you Mic and can’t wait to see and hear about the progress!

Leave a Reply

